Theodore Roosevelt® Police Awards

Theodore Roosevelt Police Awards Ceremony

The 2019 Theodore Roosevelt Police Awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, June 13, 2019, at Sagamore Hill starting at 11 AM.

Officers are chosen for this award by their respective police departments each June and honored at a cermony held on the gounds of Sagamore Hill National Historic Site, Oyster Bay, New York.

The Theodore Roosevelt® Police Award is given each year to police officers who have overcome a major physical challenge or handicap, (as Theodore Roosevelt triumphed over the illness of his youth), who remain on active duty, and who have rendered outstanding and praiseworthy service  to their respective police departments, continuing the example Theodore Roosevelt set in his years as Superintendent  of the Board of Police Commissioners of New York City, 1895-1897.

The Theodore Roosevelt Police Award consists of a silver medal on a ribbon, designed by renowned contemporary sculptor Marc Mellon. Most recently, the Presidential Inaugural Committee chose Mr. Mellon's design for the obverse of the Official Barack Obama Inaugural Medal.

The award includes a small red, white and blue commendation bar for everyday wear, a bust of TR by the noted sculptor Gleb Derujunski, and a check for $1,000.


Past Theodore Roosevelt Police Award Recipients